Revert to Teams One-Click Connector Revision

Applies To

Call2Teams - Customers

 


 Before Reverting

You will need to check which Teams connector variant you are currently using. If you have access to the portal, you can do this by going to the Services page and then the Teams tab. The variant is shown on the left. 'One-Click' refers to the 1st generation connector, where as the 2nd generation will say 'One-Click 2nd Gen'.

 

 

If you have the 'One-Click 2nd Gen' variant then support may be asking you to revert for PBX compatibility reasons.

 

 

The Revert Process

You should firstly be aware that reverting is disruptive and as with the initial synchronization can result in users being without service until all setting have been applied and Microsoft have propagated any changes through their network.


 

For production/live accounts we suggest scheduling the work for an out-of-hours service window.

 

  • Start by taking a note of which Teams users are linked with which SIP identities. Once the Teams service is deleted and re-created the SIP identities will need remapping with the appropriate Teams user. For our example here we noted down the three user's names and SIP usernames:

  • With the user information stored you can now delete the service. From the Services page >Teams tab, click the delete Trash Can. This will remove the Teams Service. From this point on your Teams users will be unable to use the Teams app to make/receive PTSN calls until the process is complete.
  • With the old service removed, enable the service again via the same Services>Teams tab. Select the ‘One Click’ Variant and the click Enable Service:

Note: You may not get an option for Service Variant. As long as your partner/support team has confirmed the appropriate variant is enabled on your account this is fine.

 

  • The new service will start an initial sync. You can confirm at this point you are now configuring the One Click connector from the same Services page > Teams tab:

 

 

  • The first sync takes around 15 minutes on average, as new custom domains are configured on the account. If you don't have a spare licence you will need to change a user login domain temporarily (the same steps as required by the 2nd gen connector). You can also see further options on spare O365 licences here:Spare Licence Options
  • The sync button will give details of it's current status and alert if actions are required:

  • With the first sync complete you will need to reconfigure your users. Users on the platform consist of two parts, a PBX/trunk part plus a Microsoft part. The original PBX/trunk parts will have been retained. You will need to expand each row and select the appropriate Teams user for the SIP details shown. For example continuing our example from earlier:

  • Once complete, the users will show configured again and the portal will prompt for a second sync to push the user configuration to Microsoft:

  • Finally when the sync is complete the users are ready to receive calls:

 

Notes

 

You should only go through the revert process if directed to do so. As noted above, ensure SIP details are retained and the process is executed out-of-hours for in-use production accounts.

 

We often see some delay in outbound calls working again once the upgrade is complete. Typically this takes a couple of hours. The delay is due to Microsoft caching the old voice routes used by the 2nd Gen connector.